24th Annual Convocation of TAPMI


Smt.D.Purandeswari emphasizes on innovation at the 24th Annual Convocation of TAPMI

April 3, 2010

Manipal: The twenty fourth Annual Convocation of T.A.Pai Management Institute, Manipal was held today at the Syndicate Bank's Golden Jubilee Auditorium in Manipal. Smt.D.Purandeswari, Hon'ble Minister of State for Human Resource Development (Higher Education) graced the occasion with her august presence.  The Auditorium was shining bright with the presence of distinguished guests, invitiees, other dignitaries, graduating students and their proud parents. The class of 2010 saw 169 participants being awarded the Post Graduate Diploma in Management by the institute.

The convocation was flagged off by a welcome address by Dr.Simon George, Dean-Academics followed by a brief introduction of the Chief Guest by Dr.Vasudeva Rao, Dean-Administration. Later, Dr. Saji Gopinath, Director of TAPMI highlighted the significant initiatives and achievements of TAPMI in the academic year 2009-10. He spoke about TAPMI moving into a new 42-acre campus, the success of its first eGPX program along with NISG, and a stronger faculty with two-thirds of them holding a doctorate. The diplomas were then handed over to each of the graduating batch by Smt.Purandeswari, Dr.Ramdas Pai and Mr.Manish Sabharwal.

Mr. Manish Sabharwal, Chairman of TeamLease Services was the Guest of Honor for the occasion. In his address, he emphasized the change that India has gone through in the last decade and encouraged the students to make the most of the current situation. He encouraged the students to adopt six virtues that he thought were the most important for the current generation to adopt - Think Big, Be Authentic, Recognize the power of luck and timing, Realize the power of teams, Play to win and Take more risk. Mr.Sabharwal also released the 2010 issue of TAPMI's annual magazine 'Update'.

The Hon'ble Minister delivered the convocation address, in which she highlighted the growth that India has undergone, and said that India is poised for a leap that has never been imagined before. Terming the 21st century as the Knowledge Century, she pointed out that knowledge is incomplete without innovation and encouraged the students to adopt innovation as a way of life. She provided the students with three real life examples of Dr. Verghese Kurien, Dr. E. Sreedharan and Dr. Ratan Tata, highlighting their achievements as eminent innovators.

She also advised the students to focus on the three TI's: Think India, Team India and Total Innovation, to channelize the huge force of the Demographic Dividend that the country has towards helping the country to achieve its goal of removing the mismatch between the islands of excellence and sea of underdevelopment. She said that universities should produce innovators and not imitators, to realize the dreams of India. She ended the address with a quote by Mahatma Gandhi that reminded the audience to hold on to their roots at every stage of life.

In the felicitation ceremony that followed the convocation, the Minister gave away awards to those students who secured the top three ranks in academics:

1st Rank Mr.Vivek Didwania

2nd Rank Ms.Sholina Mukerji

3rd Rank Mr.Dheeraj Agarwal, Mr.Nirav Jitendrakumar Vora

The coveted AgrEvo Student Award for overall achievement was won by Mr.Manish Manhot. The Chairman of TAPMI Governing Council, Dr.Ramdas Pai released a Compendium of all the twenty four Memorial Lectures held annually over the past 25 years of TAPMI's existence.

Source: By E-mail (April 5, 2010)

published on IndianMBA.com on April 5, 2010


Back to MBA News Flash Main Page


Important Note
Certain articles are published on this website assuming that all the material herein are in the public domain, as the intention of that article is a noble one - to benefit the student community. It's published here with noble intentions for academic purposes. If you find
that this article is copyrighted and is not supposed to be published without permission,
please let us know by dropping an e-mail to

Important Note :
Site Best Viewed in Internet
Explorer in 1024x768 pixels
Browser text size: Medium